top of page

MHHS Welcomes New Chemistry Teacher

Mrs. Savage is one of the new teachers recently hired by the Administration to teach Chemistry.

“I want to see my students perform well,” she said. “So, I want to be a good teacher who can connect with my students. That’ll hopefully inspire them to do their best in class and then, so they can go on to have the careers and goals they want in life.”

Blended learning at Mountain House High School can be a bit of a stretch for newcomers, though, as teachers, administrators and students learned alike last year. Mrs. Savage recognizes it as a challenge, as well as a learning opportunity, remarking, “I’m not used to the chromebooks in the classroom, but I’m adapting and learning how to do it. [...] It’s been a good learning process so far.”

To Mrs. Savage, chemistry’s appeal to students lies in its versatility. “Chemistry is something we react with everyday. [...] Seeing people get that, making that connection to real life, I think, is really cool.”

For fun, she enjoys hiking, long walks, reading, watching Netflix, and a good round of Settlers of Catan.


bottom of page