top of page

Cross Country Completes Second Season

Paper View Plain Text View

Cross Country season recently ended at Mountain House High, with more than 25 runners in the team. Students started training over the summer, conditioning and improving their skills for races during the season. Most students, when asked, loved the idea of being part of a wonderful team. The coach of the sport is Jennifer Pena.

Carla Contreras Jimenez, a runner on the team, talks about her experience in cross country. “Our season for this school year was amazing and it was everything I thought it would be. It was the first time I ran for a sport and I have to admit when I joined cross country I had no idea what it was. At the beginning I would think of quitting, since running 4-6 miles every day for practice was not my idea of a good time. Also, I did not feel like waking up at 5 in the morning to go to races and league meets. Then everything changed the time I ran my first race. As I came through the finish line I felt so accomplished and I loved the adrenaline. Not only is cross country exciting, but my team had my back the whole time and we always supported each other.Talking about my team, Renae Machuca (one of my teammates) was in the top ten individuals for league varsity and won about 6 medals throughout just this season.One of the things I probably love the most about my team is how close we are. We are literally like one big family and I believe what brought us closer is seeing each other at our worst; sweaty and on the verge of passing out. My coach, Jennifer Pena is also a great coach since she made me push myself past my limits and she made me run hard when running got hard. For people going into any running sport, let me tell you that it is not easy, but it is definitely worth it!”

Another runner, Renae Machuca, also shares about her accomplishments. “For all of us, our season went extremely well. We were able to attend many different races far and wide, and had a great time at each. As the season went on, we all got closer to each other, and became more of a family. Running was our passion, and it was great that we all got to take it to the next level. For me personally, I am thrilled with my season. It was my first year running varsity for cross country, and I feel that I did exceptionally well. Of course, the races were much harder and the course was longer, but I felt I fit into it right away. I was able to place top 10 in league championships, and there moved on to subsections (semifinals) and also placed top 10. From there I moved onto sections (finals) and was able to represent the team as the long qualifying girl (the boys qualified as well). Even though I didn't make it to state, I was super proud of myself for making it to sections as only a sophomore running varsity. I hope to achieve my dream of making it to state next season. What I like most about being on the team is being able to share my passion (running) with the great people who have become my family. I love being able to do what I love with amazing people, creating so many memories, and having such fun experiences.”

Lauryn Freeborn, another participant, thinks that “season went really good for my first time doing cross country. What I liked the most about being part of the team is how we all motivated and encouraged each other to keep going and finish the race hard. And you feel a satisfaction and really proud of yourself when you see that you PR (personal record.)”


bottom of page